A true fan? I say not.

Football has never been a big hit here in the Philippines. Honestly, no one even cared about the national team before. They practice here and there, have matches in very public places yet no one actually gives a damn about their existence in the world of Filipino Sports. No one goes “WOOOOOH!” when they pass by. Not many even recognizes them in the past.

Well, in a country where Basketball is deemed as the national sport, you can’t expect a great number of football fans out there anyways.

Someone close to me had been one of those people too. She was once in a mall doing some shopping spree with her friends. And then one of her friend approached her excitedly and told her, “The Philippine Football Team is here!!”. And, of course, my friend not being inclined to sports at that time and being also estranged with the so-called ‘National Football Team’, she replied with a bland, “Oh. Okay”. And then continued with her malling.

Frankly, people just don’t know them in the past. (Sorry guys. Peace! V)

But that doesn’t seem to be the case right now. Try watching some TV news nowadays and you will never fail to see a news clip talking about our beloved Football National Team, Azkals. Even their own private buses have been featured. All their recent games have been aired on National Television and updates about their practice have been shared to people via TV and Internet most of the time. And, of course, Facebook statuses, Twitter tweets/trends, and blogs have been filled with the Azkal word or the name of the players too. (And that includes me! =)))

I have to give credit to these young men, though. Even unseeded, they have shown great courage amidst hostile football fans from across the world. They have learned to persevere against the lack of equipments, practice areas, payment and funding, and even of the lack of supporters. There’s not even a hint of giving up in there faces. I swear I adore you, Azkals. I admire your passion for the sport. =DD

But as I pass through some posts, blogs, tweets or the like, a certain thought, a not-so-good (for me, anyways) one at that, happened to cross my mind. All of these social networks have been filled with the words: Younghusband, Etheridge, etcetc, I love you, hot, sexy, handsome, gorgeous and many other synonymous descriptions. Yep. People, girls to be more precise, keep on going crazy about the oh-so-hot guys.

Not that I’m being KJ or whatever. I also idolize the fil-foreigner players as much as they do. But I certainly do not to the extent that I watch the games just to see them stretch their bodies like that, or look sweaty after a game, or muddy from the dirt, or them giving their cute complaints and breathtaking smiles (Source: Secret =DD). Nope. I watch to see the TEAM play. I’m not after individual playing. I’m more into the game. Like my friends and I say, “Their striking good looks are just for Bonus.”

But that doesn’t seem to be the case for others. All they care about are the ‘hotness’ of the players. They’re rabid fangirls. They get angry when their idol gets pushed by the enemy team. It’s quite normal from football, you see. People do get aggressive and stuff. They get the tendency to actually go all out and just trip others. I know and also believe that  these ‘actions’ are not befitting that of  a sportsman. But at least people should just go and shout “Hey! That’s dirty!” and not “How dare you hurt MY Phil Younghusband?!”

Haha.

I personally heard those yells in Panaad and I was really having fun listening to those screams. I like the Younghusbands too. Though I just prefer the other half. >:)). They’re good at the sport. And their teamwork is admirable.

Though this skill can’t compare to English or Spanish Clubs out there, I’m quite happy that our own national team are improving in their own way. They’re starting to make their name here in Southest Asia, especially after having defeated Vietnam with a 2-0 score, and that they’re actually capable of not being branded as a “match-up that is just a walk in the park”. Also, the team has greatly improved from the last almost-a-decade match with Malaysia and with the match last December 2010.

I’m so happy that football has started to be a craze here in the country. But sad with some details accompanying the undeniably good-looking foreigner members of the team.

Clarification though, I don’t want to mess with those murderous fan girls ready to bite your head any moment from now but I just want to express my irritation to their ways in supporting the team. The team wants you to support the sport, the teamwork, the spirit and not their physical looks. Please. Just sober down a little. If you can’t do this, please stop tarnishing the description “football fan” by claiming yourself as one when you are obviously not. Thank you very much.

P.S.

Just finished this post. Haha. I started with this a half a year ago but suddenly run out of inspiration. =)) I’m glad that I actually got to publish this. Yay.

Leave a Reply :))

